Administrator Filter Control

As a DOMO administrator, I would like the ability to control what options a user has within their ability to add filters within a visualization.  In many cases the underlyting data set includes options to filter the data, that could lead users astray or interpret the information incorrectly.

The ideal use case would allow me to control what is exposed as a filter within a specific card.

Tagged:
5 votes

· Last Updated

Comments

• Thank you for submitting this idea @adubrow.  I am assigning to our product manager @MitchyMitch8 for review.

• @adubrow love the idea. @michaelf can you take a look at this one?

• That is a great idea @adubrow, I'd love to hear more about your thoughts and use cases for this.

• Not sure what additional information you would like me to add.  I am describing a scenarion that when I publish a card, I can explicitly show or hide filter to be more directive about how that data can be presented.  For instance, if I only want to allow a user be able to filter by options designated by me, the card creator.

• Thanks for the clarification @adubrow! That would definitely be a useful feature. We'll review this with our engineering team to best determine how to incorporate this. Thanks!

• This is the greatest idea ever.  Most of my data sets have multiple columns that are useless/meaningless to an end-user and yet they clutter up the filter options when a filter is applied.  In general, I may only want them to filter on a Store and and a particular date range but the data set has 40 columns used to build the cards.

@adubrow wrote:

As a DOMO administrator, I would like the ability to control what options a user has within their ability to add filters within a visualization.  In many cases the underlyting data set includes options to filter the data, that could lead users astray or interpret the information incorrectly.