Sparkline support

I'm new to Domo and loving it so far. Apart from data exploration, I've also got a stack of mock ups of target visualizations from stakeholders. They're open to alternative designs, but I'm stumbed trying to find an alternative to "sparklines". Below is a typical example of a sparkline from https://chandoo.org/wp/2010/05/18/excel-sparklines-tutorial/:

introduction-to-excel-sparklines.png

Like so many things, Ed Tufte invented/promoted this chart type. In our case, there would be a ton of uses for "tiny unadorned charts." They follow Tufte's rules for "multiple miniatures" to good result, they make the table more engaging, and they pack a lot more data into a small space than any numeric presentation can hope for.

I'd guess that the place to ask for a sparkline would be on Sumo Cards? Given that Sumo Cards can pull in Excel files directly without the Data Center, that's probably a good match for the users looking for sparklines. Trust me, I don't love Excel for graphing (I don't even like it) but, in this case, they did the right thing to popularize sparklines around 2010.

Sparklines would really help us to show change over time amongst departments and divisions. It would be great! And, unlike some more exotic chart types, business users tend to already grasp what sparklines are. 

Thank you.

5 votes

· Last Updated

Comments

• This would be very useful. 

•  

<rant>
    I try and check the release notes every time there's a new Domo version to see what's new and improved. I was very excited to see spark lines and spark bars announced. Yes! Unfortunately, they're a total disappointment. I posted about this over on the Card Building forum:

The new spark line and bar chart types. What's the point?

...and got a reply suggesting that this topic is a better fit for the Ideas forum. So I'm back here updating an existing feature request for spark line support.